top of page
  • Writer's pictureCNFA

FUTSAL TEAM CANADA - Winners of the CONCACFUTSAL World Cup Qualifiers

Look out Argentina, here we come!

On December 8-9, 2018, in Mexico City, Canada defeated Curacao, USA and Mexico, to become the CONCACFUTSAL Champions and qualified for the 2019 World Cup in Argentina.

This victory was a long time coming. In 1982, the first indoor soccer World Championships were held in Sao Paulo, Brazil. Canada did not take part in the Championships because they were not affiliated to FIFUSA at the time. In 1983, Canada was officially recognized as a member, and since then, indoor soccer has been played in Canada.

In 1984, Canada played in the Pan American Games in Brazil, however, Canada did not qualify to play in 1985 World Cup in Spain.

In 1987, at the Australian Aboriginal Indoor Soccer qualifying round, Canada defeated Japan 5:1, to qualify for their first Indoor Soccer (Futsal) World Cup Championship in 1988, hosted also in Australia.

2018 marked 35 years for Canada to ever win an indoor soccer (futsal) trophy.

CNFA dedicates the trophy to Canada, in honour of all the people who have worked over the years in Canadian communities, with a goal of making Canada number 1 in North America.

Today, the challenge is to use this victory to inspire all Canadians and to bring back hope to Futsal communities, and to attract future generations to the sport.

Congratulations to our management, National Team Players and coaches. Let’s continue to work together to make our dreams come true at the World Cup in March!

58 views0 comments


bottom of page